Install TP-LINK 150 Mbps Mini Wireless N USB adapter TL-WN723N in Ubuntu

So, you buy the TP-LINK 150 Mbps Mini Wireless N USB adapter TL-WN723N, plug it into your Linux box running Ubuntu 10.10  Maverick Meerkat and nothing happens. No wireless network, nothing.

You can try the following:

  • Create a directory for the new driver
  • Get the compressed driver file
  • Uncompress it
  • Copy the driver file to the newly made directory

At the command line it looks like this:

sudo mkdir /lib/firmware/RTL8192SU
wget http://launchpadlibrarian.net/37387612/rtl8192sfw.bin.gz
gunzip rtl8192sfw.bin.gz
sudo mv rtl8192sfw.bin /lib/firmware/RTL8192SU/

Easy.

This way I got my Wi-Fi dongle to connect to the invisible wireless network I am using. Sometimes it chokes and the connection needs to be re-established, but it works. The Gnome does not show the surrounding wireless networks though, which I know do exist. I just wonder why.

23 Comments on “Install TP-LINK 150 Mbps Mini Wireless N USB adapter TL-WN723N in Ubuntu”

  1. Kemp says:

    Do you know how I could get this adapter to work in Fedora?

  2. joseph says:

    Hello, thank you for these explanations.

    Having trouble connectivity with my wireless card integrated (ACER ASPIRE 7750G-2678G75MN, broadcom BCM43227), I bought the TL-WN723N and follow your explanations. everything seems ok.

    However, to connect to wifi, it’s always my integrated card is used, not the TL-WN723N.

    An idea of ​​what to do?

  3. joseph says:

    I found the solution, it was enough, in my case, remove the internal card driver via the driver manager. Thanks for your tips, that works for me.

  4. andrzej hudy says:

    it’s ok on ubuntu 10,04 (lucid), linux 2,6,32-41, gnome 2,30,2
    thx 😉
    beer for you for help 😉

  5. Thomas says:

    Didn’t work for me on 10.04

  6. Karina says:

    Hello, the TL-WN720N have different installation?

  7. FranWilder says:

    Thanx Dude! Work perfectly!

  8. nikki says:

    can i download the driver software for this as i have lost the disc 😦

  9. Great solution, It worked nicely for me on Ubuntu 10.04 (32bit).
    Thanks

  10. Bong says:

    If I had fucking internet why the fuck I would want to install wifi adapter??? Find a way to install it without active internet connection!


Leave a Reply

